A Game With Passers-by

January 4, 2012 § 4 Comments

They turn their heads

When I drive by

In my little red car

I toss them a smile

And they high-five

And shoulder bump

As if they’ve just won

Some great victory

*

You don’t understand,

My husband says,

You never have

Yes…I do

I want to say

But what good is it?

Except for a lark

A game with passers-by

*

So I stow it

In the back of my mind

Because I know

Whatever it is

It won’t last forever

And I’m afraid

When the time comes

I won’t want to let it go

Tagged: , ,

§ 4 Responses to A Game With Passers-by

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Game With Passers-by at J. S. Colley.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,300 other followers

